Cool To Be Me @ Home – Feeling Happy and Safe

16 learners taking this course

Or log in to access your purchased courses



Welcome to the COOL TO BE ME @ Home, Feeling Happy and Safe Series.

Pause from the family’s busy schedule, and set aside special time with your child to explore the four building blocks in this series that teach the social and emotional skills, attitudes and values needed for them to work through life’s challenges and hiccups, back to feeling happy and safe so that they can continue playing and enjoying life or persisting with a difficult task.

Neuroscience informs us that the brain learns best when it is calm and content which makes ‘feeling happy and safe’ a very important theme to address with children in their formative years of schooling. Learning the skills of self-awareness and self-management at home, prepares them to better handle situations as they arise at school so that they can navigate their daily stresses in the classroom and quickly return to a calm and content state of being; ready to learn.

These are the four building blocks (modules) you and your child will explore in this Feeling Happy and Safe @ Home Series:

Building Block 1: Feelings

During this building block your child will learn how to identify and express their feelings; bubble breathe to calm down; make helpful rather than hurtful choices and become aware of how other people are feeling.

Story Motto:
It’s okay to feel mad or sad or happy as can be, because all my feelings are a part of me.

Story Summary:
Sammy is a sensitive squirrel. One day she feels sad and runs away into the forest. Bru’Me and Musa Monkey look everywhere for her and embark on a journey through the forest, where they meet Thandi Tortoise and learn an important lesson about feelings.

Building Block 2: Sharing

During this building block your child will experience that when we are valued for sharing ‘who we are’, our unique character, talents, abilities, ideas and opinions as well as our belongings (toys or books) we feel a great sense of happiness and confidence. When we experience this for ourselves we begin to value the people around us more and encourage them to share of themselves too… and grow in confidence and happiness.

Story Motto:
Everything begins to shine, when I decide to share what’s mine.

Story Summary:
Bru’Me finds himself in the sad, dull and grey Wangle Shamangle Land where no one is allowed to share.  Everything starts to change when he befriends a little girl and the whole Land is magically transformed through their courage.

Building Blocks 3: Being kind

During this building block your child will experience how being kind makes them and their family and friends feel. They will think creatively about all the different ways they can be kind to people, pets and the environment … and put their ideas into practice too.

 Story Motto:
When I am kind to others, we become sisters and brothers.

Story Summary:
Bru’Me brings a magic pouch filled with Dazzle Dust to school.  Through his enchanting tricks, everyone starts to share the joy and safety of kindness.  Soon the whole school wants to know what he is up to and where they too can get some Dazzle Dust.

Building Block 4: My circle of love and support

Developing the ability to be vulnerable and ask for help from the people we trust, so that we can persist with difficult tasks or overcoming our fears, is a very important life skill. It requires levels of self-awareness and self-management that many adults battle to achieve. This building block is the starting point of learning for your child. They will be able to apply what they have learnt so far in this series to overcome the things that cause them the most anxiety and emotional overwhelm with the knowledge that they are loved and supported and that it is okay to ask for help.

 Story Motto:
I feel strong, brave and safe as can be because there’s always a circle of love around me.

Story Summary:
Bru’Me and his friends find themselves floating in a bubble to a magical land where they meet Queen Luvalot.  She takes them on a journey through Bubble-of-Luvalot Land where they learn all about love, support and beliefs.


The most important thing is to remember while working through this series with your child is to have fun and use the story, activities, chats, and games to connect and engage together in the wonderful world of social and emotional learning.



Pin It on Pinterest